One day you’ll have to come to Paris too & visit. Would be proud to have you claim some space on a poetry stage out here of course. Keep slaying it.

The MFA Years

We Ain’t Even ‘posed to Be (Here): The Brown Boy Considers Mississippi On His First Day

Image: Visit Mississippi

I swore we would not begin in history, but I am a remixer of promises where it suits me which is a pretty way of saying that I knew that was a lie when I swore it to myself. It is a morning in the thick suck of August in a future I would have called a lie less than a year ago, not just a lie but a bold lie. That I might at the end of the indisputably hardest thus far year of my life be an MFA candidate, Black as I am, Brown as I am? Unlikely. That I might do so in Mississippi was something for which dialogue around the South had never truly prepared me.

Where my family and the concept and reality of South have…

View original post 712 more words

Leave a Reply

