Art by Citlali Haro

[RUN]

crawl into the earth

live in bursting. I have breathless soaring on my mind

alone on gravel fields with steam on my chest & you

running in the air pitching outwards ahead of fishing line legs casting into deep grass & the churns of soil risen in the morning air

sprinting out of shoes, wheels falling off into dusts and lung pumps gushing forth in morning breeze of wild birds, alone

grains in my hair and sand, most mortal when I can forget I am mortal

feeling one with the rushing winds, as I was born to, wilderness of oxygen speaking in my ear

quiet words of grass & rock, of rusting animal lurking between my temples, alive, alive, alive & springing into early mist-fumes reaching out of primal forest beneath evergreen boughs in the distance, we will meet & dine on flesh in moonlight, I

will break from this skin; tectonic writhing from chrysalis-body & run again, like I used to, like legs unweighted by bones & age, like unweighted bones lacking the burden of veins, nothing to carry anymore & nothing the same but the beating steps, forward into dawn, forward into the outer-reaches of the life-woods, forward into forgotten lakes and nascent buds of future selves, forward until your hands shake and it all falls away in the side of your vision, forward as the tunnel closes, as the legs give way, as the feet wear to bone, and the voice-light itself just

[goes out]

Leave a Reply

